Winter Sunday in High Park,January 24 2016

It’s been a few weeks since I posted an article or took any photos. January has been a grey, blah few weeks so far, weather wise and in general. There is nothing going on as far as events go in Toronto, or at least that have intrigued me enough to go out and visit. I have sat and gone over most of the many, many pictures that I had the pleasure to take in 2015 and have spent time thinking about where and what lies in store for the new year. In all of this time of introspection and soul searching the gnawing in my soul stirred. Surely there must be something out there that is worth capturing. I felt like I had writer’s block. I couldn’t find anything that called to me. I guess it can be called the post Christmas, January blues.1-DSC_0138 A few friends have reached out to me to ask if I was ok, as they hadn’t heard from me in a while. The most recent was a dear friend KJ Mullins,(editor of newz4u.net),a local online news service well worth checking out! I assured her all was ok and finished my third cup of coffee when i heard the little voices calling.1-DSC_0194 It was indeed time for some Divine intervention. Sometimes to go forward one needs to step back. Back to one’s roots, back to the basics, back to the place that inspired you in the first place. High Park has always been such a place for me. Every one of the hundreds, if not thousands, of times I have come here in my life no two trips are ever the same and today was no exception.1-DSC_01471-DSC_0145In the winter things are calmer here. Branches frozen in water and time. Life suspended, waiting for the upcoming spring.1-DSC_01421-DSC_01571-DSC_0160 Sales might be slower and some things can be seen that were previously hidden by leaves but make no mistake the life here is alive and well.1-DSC_01531-DSC_0168 I had heard about this bird sanctuary that some kind people have created and maintain in the middle of the woods.1-DSC_01791-DSC_0196 A magical place started by Ben”The Bird Man” Holloway and since his passing in 2014 maintained by his family and friends. I nestled against a large tree and over the next hour or so felt my batteries recharge. 1-DSC_02251-DSC_02151-DSC_02021-DSC_02411-DSC_0268Finches, sparrows, woodpeckers, doves all flitted about enjoying the treats that have been left for them. Everything here seems repurposed and recycled and put to good use again.1-DSC_0210 On my way out of this little shrine I bade farewell to the Cardinal and made my way through the forest back to civilization, recharged, refreshed and of the knowledge that life does go forward.1-DSC_02741-DSC_0282 I have no idea what this year will bring but i feel more excited and enthused than I did yesterday and hope all of you will continue to enjoy the words and photos I will have the opportunity to share. So if the winter blues have got you too, get up, get out and enjoy Toronto. Go to a park, get some Divine intervention of your own, it’s free!!

Leave a Reply

