Nuit Blanche, Toronto October 3, 2015

“A work of art is above all an adventure of the mind.”  Eugène Ionesco

The 10th annual Nuit Blanche event took over the city on Saturday night. The event runs from sunset to sunrise and features  installations and exhibits from hundreds of artists.DSC_0007 DSC_0009 DSC_0016 I spent 5 hours in this crowd of humans and don’t think I saw a tenth of the entire event. The installations incorporate any and all aspects of the arts in an effort to challenge one to think and enjoy.DSC_0030 DSC_0032 DSC_0044 It felt like one big street party, and it was! Transit was way over loaded, the weather was terrible but somehow what felt like a million people had gathered and the party was on.DSC_0059 DSC_0048 DSC_0055DSC_0062
DSC_0061 DSC_0070 DSC_0066DSC_0072 DSC_0074 DSC_0078 DSC_0080 After my trip through the mob on Queen St.W. I retreated to the harbourfront only to find cold strong winds coming off the lake and making it feel like a late November night.DSC_0092 DSC_0084 DSC_0086 On my way out I returned to King St.W. to rejoin a massive mob that was by now quite a bit drunker than when I left. As I waited for the 504 streetcar a fight broke out in a line-up at a club across the street , thankfully quickly and peacefully dealt with by Police Services and EMS Staff. Art may be the adventure of the mind, but this festival is an adventure for all senses. I left after 5 hours and as much as these knees could handle. As I headed west I saw that for some the party was just getting starting. Quite an experience, as always enjoy Toronto.

Leave a Reply

