Sunday In The Park, High Park Toronto, July 20 2015

Serendipity is described as the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way. High Park has been a big part of my life, in fact my mom and dad came here regularly when mom was pregnant with me. Throughout our lives, no matter what part of the city we lived in, we would always come here to play and in all seasons. I came here yesterday thinking to watch some PanAm games men’s cycling road racing. What a great event, my park transformed into a stage for a truly world class event. I have seen all kinds of events and people in this place, many rallies, family and political gatherings, even had a chance to sit with the monks during their daily afternoon devotion so this event was going to be grand. And it will surely be……..next Saturday when the event actually takes place. Seems at 56 I can’t read a  schedule so well anymore. So what follows is my walk home through the park camera in hand.DSC_0334I started at the northern edge, hard to believe that the hustle and bustle of Bloor St.W. is just behind this waterfall. As I headed south i decided to take some lesser trodden paths through the woods that my dogs Yogi, Butch and I have cut through many times. The first thing I met was this Downy Woodpecker, love the spots on his back.DSC_0330 DSC_0332-001As i got into a stand of trees I met this cute bunny and his friend. I tried to catch a shot of both of them but they were really fast heading for cover. This is one of the few areas in the park were the sounds of the city surrounding you actually almost disappear entirely.  DSC_0343 Next through the Allotment Gardens. Nice to see that people are more interested in growing flowers and herbs instead of tomatoes and lettuce. Provided for some beautiful scenery, an oasis of rustic charm, complete with this classic looking bicycle.DSC_0351 DSC_0356 DSC_0359 Next seen was a Red-bellied Woodpecker doing what they do, you know, pecking wood. DSC_0369 DSC_0364As I cleared the woods I came across this bunch of drums waiting to be picked up and wished I had been a bit earlier. I bet they sounded great. DSC_0371I continued south to my favourite pond, the place that I draw a lot of peace and Zen from. I was met there by a male and female couple of Northern Cardinals.DSC_0395  DSC_0404 After some fussing the male took a higher post, surveyed the situation, and then seemed to shout out his instructions to the female who had begun gathering sticks.DSC_0405 DSC_0408 The next pond gave me my first sighting, this year, of a Great Blue Heron. One of the most amazing and majestic birds. I have always been enthralled with these guys, so strong and so graceful. DSC_0422This one had to share this little group of rocks with a pair of fairly large Cormorants. I guess the eating is good in this pond.DSC_0420 As I turned at the bottom, now just a stone’s throw from The Queensway I met an interesting man, Danny Mullin, one of the hard-working well to do neighborhood folk that helped save the Revue theatre on Ronces. We had a wonderful conversation about the neighborhood, this park, and the ducks that seemed to be playing heads or tails.DSC_0431 DSC_0424 As we parted ways, and the rain and thunder began, I headed north and east towards home. As I left the park and saw all the barriers in preperation for next weeks event, I thought, yeah I will come back next Saturday, that cycling thing might be fun too! Even this squirrel seemed to smile at the thought. DSC_0409So if you get a chance, take a walk through the park, and if you walk just slowly enough you would be amazed what you can see. Enjoy Toronto!`

Leave a Reply

