Winter Weekend in Toronto

Two women that I know and respect suggested that I do some photos about the homeless and downtrodden. I wasn’t sure how to approach this. I have always had a bit of an aversion to exploiting someone else’s misfortune for my own gain.

Having lived in Toronto my whole life I have always been aware of the fact that many “homeless” or “discarded” people are everywhere. You can’t walk through Toronto without coming across it.

Mental illness, series of bad luck events, discrimination, alcohol and drug abuse.There are lots of explanations but few actual resources and desire to help.

I made this weekend’s trip with an open mind not knowing what to expect. Because of the cold weather not a lot of people were out there and that’s probably a good thing, What I did was catch a few shots of people that were a part of that demographic., The guy in the blue I had to include, just because.

I wound up on Brock St. and met a red-haired woman that sold me a comic book about a man who became a lawyer while suffering through schizophrenia, apparently based on a true story, and the $2.50 I gave her was just enough to get her back indoors, warm , dry and not suffering from frostbite.

 

Leave a Reply

